Belgian Royal Family

Here you will find the latest information on the Belgian Royal Family.

Following Belgium’s independence in 1830, the National Congress chose a constitutional monarchy as the form of government. Leopold of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, a German Prince, was elected and became Leopold I the first King of the Belgians and established the Belgian Royal Family. This became official on 21 July in Brussels after the Prince swore allegiance to the Belgian constitution in front of Saint Jacob’s Church at Coudenberg Palace.

Since then, Belgium has seen seven Monarchs rule with the latest being His Majesty King Philippe who ascended the throne on 21 July 2013 after his father King Albert II abdicated due to health reasons. Jonkvrouwe Mathilde d’Udekem d’Acoz married King Philippe and became known as Queen Mathilde following the abdication. The Queen is the country’s first Belgian-born Queen and together, her and her husband, has four children. Her Royal Highness Princess Elisabeth, Duchess of Brabant, is their oldest child and is the heir apparent to the Belgian throne. The other children are His Royal Highness Prince Gabriel, His Royal Highness Prince Emmanuel and Her Royal Highness Princess Eléonore.